Mizoram News Pulse

Pep Guardiola is named LMA's Premier League Manager of the Year for Manchester City

After leading Manchester City to the Premier League championship, Pep Guardiola was awarded Manager of the Year by the League Managers Association (LMA) and the Premier League on Tuesday.

With three games remaining, Guardiola guided City to their fifth league title in six seasons. They finished the season five points clear of Arsenal in second place.

Man City played 38 league games this season, winning 28, and they scored an incredible 94 goals, which is more than any other team in the top leagues of Europe.

With City taking on Manchester United in the FA Cup final on June 3 and Inter in the Champions League final on June 10, a historic Treble is now a possibility.

In a club statement, Guardiola stated, “I would want to thank everyone involved in my being awarded LMA Manager of the Year.

“First of all, I want to tell my fellow candidates about it. They have all performed well this season.

This trophy is often given for accomplishments rather than managerial skill. I play for a fantastic football team, and without all of the help I have received over the years, this would not have been possible.

“Of course, I also want to thank all of the players for the incredible job that they have done to help us this season,” he said.

Txiki Begiristain, the director of football at Manchester City, said, “Pep is a master of his trade and fully deserves this honour. His whole concentration is on making Manchester City the best they can be both on and off the field every single day.

“He raises the bar for this football team and has really high standards. Without a doubt, City is better because of his attitude and commitment.

“It's obvious that he's been successful this year, but he's also played outstanding football once again. I'd want to extend my sincere compliments to Pep and his team.

We at Manchester City would want to extend our sincere congratulations to Pep on receiving this honor.

Guardiola defeated Mikel Arteta of Arsenal, Roberto De Zerbi of Brighton & Hove Albion, Eddie Howe of Newcastle United, Vincent Kompany of Burnley, and Steven Schumacher of Plymouth Argyle to win the LMA award.

Richie Wellens of Leyton Orient earned the League Two manager of the year title, while Vincent Kompany and Michael Schumacher won the Championship and League One honors, respectively.

The Women's Championship award went to Lauren Smith, whose team, Bristol City, won the league.

Lou Macari, a 73-year-old former midfielder for Scotland, Celtic, and Manchester United, received the first John Duncan Award, which honors remarkable accomplishment, for founding a homeless shelter in Stoke.

Related posts

Release of the Women’s Premier League Retention List for 2024

ICC Rankings: Australia remains the world's best ODI team, while India drops to third place


KS Bharat Out of Team out of India’s Team for West Indies tour

‘The Bubble Has Burst’: Pakistan in the 2023 ICC World Cup

IND versus AFG: Virender Sehwag Calls For Mohammed Shami’s Inclusion, Wants Star All-Rounder “Rested”

Two Bouncers Per Over: Major Mushtaq Ali Trophy Rule Change Announced by BCCI; IPL Next?